films / women filmmakers

Agnes Varda at the ICA

I went to see the first in a series of screenings of Varda’s films last night at the ICA. The film, La Pointe Courte, was brilliant. What’s strange is that I’d actually tried to watch it before, at home, but failed. Now I know it wasn’t the film that was the problem, but me. Some films just need to be seen in a dark room on a big screen, and not in my living room. Made in 1955, the film juxtaposes the stories of a husband and wife contemplating the meaning of their love for one another with the intrigues of the small fishing village where the husband was born. I loved it.

Leave a Reply

