events / films / women filmmakers

Go see Jeanne Dielman

If you haven’t already seen it, go watch Jeanne Dielman, 23 Quai du Commerce, 1080 Bruxelles (1975), at the ICA tomorrow, an epic 3 hour long film by Chantal Akerman. I went to see it last year and I was pretty daunted by how long it was going to be and the fact that I’d heard most of it was a shot of potatoes boiling (not completely true). But I totally ended up loving it. I thought it was suspenseful, beautifully shot and I found the repetition quite mesmerizing. Screening at the ICA as part of the Akerman retrospective, A Nos Amours.

Jeanne Dielman web

Leave a Reply

